lunches from early october / freezer foods

img_0364
egg muffins about to be frozen

img_0312
a glamour shot of the kale and frozen veggies version
Eggs and tupperware… my great loves in life. Nothing much to say here. Just eggs, spinach, garlic, and onion and some Mrs. Dash (not to be stereotypical but my ancestors are literally ashamed) at 350 degrees for 40 minutes or so. I also did this two weeks ago with kale and frozen veggies inside. It’s fine. 

Nota bene: Please don’t bully me about my aluminum tins. I’m waiting for the perfect novelty muffin tins to hit the racks at Goodwill. Also, the paper liners were kind of a bad idea– don’t be fooled by their adorable appearance. No, I didn’t cook the veggies before putting them in the egg mixture due to I am a working gal … Moving on.

img_0363
some f*d up but decent tasting butternut squash “soup.” Yes those are seeds still in there
Butternut squash “soup” in the loosest sense of the word “soup.” I won’t call it a “mash” because contrary to popular belief I’m not a lonesome frontier wife cooking beans for my 8 children while my deadbeat husband cavorts with #Loose #Women in a #Saloon out #West. But I digress:

  • First I roasted a butternut squash for like 40 mins at 425 degrees with some EVOO (lmfao), paprika, salt, pepper, rosemary, and chili power. Had to get those spices in since I bought a lot in bulk suuuuper cheap at an Indian grocery downtown.
  • I don’t have a blender nor the wherewithal to go search for one so I just carved out all the meat and mashed it with a fork and refrigerated it for a day (didn’t have time to go the whole nine yards that day)
  • also I forgot to remove the seeds but that’s perfectly good fiber am I right
  • the next day I had an hour and a half before class so I sautéed some chopped onions, 2-3 jalapeños, garlic, and a leek? i think? in some olive oil with salt and pepper. I let it cook down for a hot minute until, as they say, ~fragrant~ and slightly soft
  • at that point I mixed in the mashed squash and let it cook for again, a hot minute
  • after the squash was warmed up and incorporated with Onion and Friends I put in maybe 3 or 4 cups of chicken broth and stirred continuously until the squash and soup were no longer separated. It was a little bit thinner than mashed potatoes but not by much.
  • considered putting in plain yogurt for creaminess (don’t even know if that would have worked or not) but didn’t feel like going back to my room to get it. Just thought the people would want to know what could have been
  • Let simmer on lowest heat for about 30 minutes
  • I made like 9 servings  so by the end of the week I had literally morphed into a squash
  • a message to my haters is that it froze really well

img_0278
kale, rice, and turkey meatballs
Bonus dinner from my first week back at school (aka 4 billion years ago):

  • mix 1lb turkey meat, however much chopped spinach you have, a scant cup of rice, an egg, a stale piece of bread since I didn’t have breadcrumbs, 1 minced onion, some garlic, and salt/pepper/Mrs Dash mixed together in a large bowl (or in my case, a saucepan)
  • I put in a little plain yogurt to help everything stick together
  • shape into however many unevenly sized balls the universe has deigned to give you
  • bake on oiled sheet lined with aluminum foil for… 25ish minutes? at 375 degrees. The timing was partially my gut feeling and partially scoping out what (my fellow) health mom bloggers have done
  • froze em for the rest of the week
Leave a Reply

