5 spice-ish turkey and tea eggs

img_0603

I know this looks bland but this is actually the most legitimately aromatic thing I’ve cooked this year so catch the tea on that…

For your information I emerged from home this week with a ziplock baggie containing cinnamon, 花椒, star anise, cloves, and that big seed thing that looks like a peach pit. I don’t know what it is but I DO know from 火锅 experience that it’s potent and quite simply terrible to accidentally bite into. And also some chunks of rock sugar.

All this is supposed to be for 卤肉 using beef tenderloin but beef is really just so extra so I used turkey instead… trust me I know it ain’t right so if you do this, please know it’s supposed to be a slab of braised beef sliced up and served hot or cold with cilantro if my life experience is to be believed….

img_0594

  • I used 1 lb of turkey, 1/2 a cinnamon stick, a smattering of peppercorns and cloves and 1 unidentified seed thing plus a chunk of rock sugar. Then just barely cover with water because then you add soy sauce until you get a color you want the broth to be. In theory, there should be the same amount of sugar and salt/soy sauce but I don’t have the advanced knowhow to compare liquid vs solid volumes soooooo the alternate plan is to wait until the broth comes to a boil and then add more salt/soy sauce ~to taste~ . Sources say the soy sauce is mostly just for color anyway. If this were beef or pork you would have wanted to add some cooking wine too.
  • After the broth comes to a boil, lower to medium heat and let it simmer for an hour.
  • During this hour I made rice and kale and did whatever I do when I’m not faithfully blogging…
  • Then you’re supposed to take it off the heat and let it sit in the broth for a couple hours but I had 1 hour so I jumped the gun. Then you’re dunzo

 

However, in true “You Look Like You Don’t Waste Food” form, I used the broth to make tea eggs for lunch prep. And no… I haven’t reached peak Chinese grandma yet and believe me I’m eagerly awaiting the day so don’t even start

  • I hard boiled the eggs directly in the broth. For me this is 10 extra minutes after the broth comes to a boil because I mean Hard Boiled…
  • Then I plunged the eggs in cold water to make them easier to peel.
  • My grandma seeps them peel off but I seent other people crack the shell and seep to get the dappled pattern so just follow your heart I suppose….
  • I let them seep for like 16 hours in the broth while I was out and about in the outside world and also sleeping
  • I’m used to them being darker but I think it’s because I didn’t use tea leaves and not enough soy sauce but 16 hrs was enough for the spices to permeate.
img_0604
Shell off vs Shell cracked

I’m thinking about using the rest of the spices I have left over to make some bomb ass hot chocolate so we’ll see about that. Remember to pour one out for me this week as I desperately try to absorb a semester’s worth of “knowledge” even though I’m only a wee lass and should be exempt from these cruel ways…

Fare thee well until Thursday when I return with hummus

Leave a Reply

